The Dream Makers By Mikey Brooks

image

 

 

 

image

 

 

SYNOPSIS:
This is the exciting conclusion to The Dream Keeper Chronicles.
When the nightmare king escapes into the world of Awake, it is left to Gladamyr and his teen bonds, Parker and Kaelyn, to stop him. They must return Mares back to Dreams before the barrier between the two worlds crumbles and darkness reigns forever. But to do so, Parker and Kaelyn must heal broken friendships and unite an army of children who are brave enough to conquer their fears.

LINKS AND PRE-ORDER LINKS:
THE DREAM KEEPER (BOOK 1)
Kindle
http://www.amazon.com/The-Dream-Keeper-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00CPE0PT0
Nook
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-dream-keeper-mikey-brooks/1115262781?ean=2940016761121
Kobo
http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-dream-keeper
Paperback
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1939993032
Hardback
http://www.amazon.com/Dream-Keeper-Mikey-Brooks/dp/1939993016
Audiobook
http://www.audible.com/pd/Kids/The-Dream-Keeper-Audiobook/B00H9L66XS

THE DREAMSTONE (BOOK 2)
Kindle
http://www.amazon.com/Dreamstone-Dream-Keeper-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00GP33YZO
Nook
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-dreamstone-mikey-brooks/1117435078
Kobo
http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-dreamstone
Paperback
https://www.createspace.com/4465480
Hardback
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-dreamstone-mikey-brooks/1117435078?ean=9781939993229&itm=1&usri=the+dreamstone
Audiobook
http://www.audible.com/pd/Kids/The-Dreamstone-Audiobook/B00LADIKEY/ref=a_search_c4_1_2_srTtl?qid=1413266320&sr=1-2

THE DREAM MAKERS (BOOK 3)
Kindle
http://www.amazon.com/Dream-Makers-Keeper-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00NJD8ZP2
Kobo
http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-dream-makers

image

EXCERPT:

Liz Bennett woke to the sound of beeping and the distant hum of machines. She didn’t know where she was. Her mind was still somewhere between Dreams and Awake. She felt strapped down, her arms pinned to her sides. Something was blowing cold air up her nostrils. She forced her eyelids open. Despite the softly lit room, the light burned her eyes.

Where am I?

“Elizabeth?”

Liz tried to find the source of the unfamiliar voice, but her heavy eyelids made it difficult. The room was going in and out of focus. She caught glimpses of pastel-colored walls and a darkened television.

Is that someone by the door?

“Elizabeth? Do you know where you are?”

What kind of question is that? Of course she didn’t know where she was. No, wait. Something was coming back. She had been with Parker. She was falling—he was falling.

“Parker! Parker! I need to get to Parker.”

“Mrs. Bennett, your son is fine. We called your husband a few minutes ago, and he’s on his way.”

Liz’s vision came into focus, and she finally found the source of the voice. A large woman wearing pink diamond-patterned scrubs stood next to her bed. She was looking over the machines that continued to purr and beep. Cords like tentacles spread from the equipment and twisted their way across Liz’s arms and body. Liz pulled a hand free of the blankets that were wrapped too tightly around her and felt the cords on her face.

“Now don’t worry yourself about those, Elizabeth, that’s just some oxygen and a few monitors. You had some type of accident and have been unconscious for some time. My name is Marcy and I am your assigned nurse. Your doctor has been notified, and he’ll be along soon. Now, can you tell me a few things, sweetie?”

“I need to leave. I have to get to my son.”

“Mrs. Bennett, I told you, your son is fine. He is with your husband, and they are on their way now.”

“I don’t have a husband.”

“Oh dear . . . Um . . . I need you to answer a few questions for me. Do you know what day it is?”

“Of course I don’t. You said I’ve been unconscious. How am I supposed to know how long that’s been? Can we take this stuff off me? I feel fine. I’m just a little groggy.”

“I’m sorry, Mrs. Bennett, but I need you to answer some questions first before I can—”

Liz yanked the cords off her face and Nurse Marcy gasped. She dropped her clipboard, which clattered on the hard hospital floor. Liz pulled the oxygen feed from around her head and tossed it at the woman. “I’m fine, really.”

“I need you to relax, or I will have to restrain you.”

“Just try to restrain me, lady,” Liz growled. “I need to get to my son. He’s in danger.”

“Mrs. Bennett, please!” Nurse Marcy reached for a button on the wall, and a loud beep sounded in the room. “I need some help in here, please.”

Liz sat up and pulled the cords and their connectors from her skin. They left red circles. Next she reached for her hand, where an IV was attached, and began to rip the tap free. Nurse Marcy rushed to her and held Liz’s hand away.

Another woman with matching scrubs came into the room. “We need to restrain her,” Nurse Marcy said. “She’s not cooperating and she has memory loss.”

“What are you talking about? I don’t have memory loss. I need to get to my son. He’s falling. Stop that! You can’t do this! Stop that!”

The second nurse pushed Liz back in her bed and pressed her weight on Liz’s arms. Liz tried to push her off, but the woman felt like an elephant. Nurse Marcy ran to a cupboard and pulled out a small bottle. In seconds she had a syringe attached at the base of the container, draining its contents.

“Don’t you dare drug me! I haven’t given my consent for any treatment. I will sue you so fast, lady, you won’t know what hit you— I’m a lawyer!”

“Your husband signed all the consent forms,” Nurse Marcy sneered.

“I told you, I am not married. We’ve been divorced for almost a year. How can you possibly allow an ex-husband to sign consent forms? Get off me!”

“I just need you to relax. This will help you do that.”

“Don’t you dare! Get. Off. Me!”

Nurse Marcy stabbed the needle into the IV and Liz felt a cooling sensation travel up her arm.

Her head felt as though it were filling with water. Her ears felt like cotton balls had been placed in them. The nurse pinning her down pushed off with a satisfied grin. Liz’s eyelids felt heavy again. The room faded in and out of focus. She thought she saw Jeff standing in the doorway.

“What’s going on? I thought you said she was awake.”

“I had to restrain her—she was delirious. She might have received memory loss. She thought she wasn’t married and that your son was in danger. She started pulling her monitors off and I thought a sedative was the best—”

“What? You sedated a woman that just woke up from a coma? What is wrong with you? Liz! Liz, baby, can you hear me? Liz? What’s wrong with Parker? Liz, baby, please?”

Liz opened her heavy eyelids and focused on Jeff’s face. He looked worried. His eyes were bloodshot and his normally perfect blonde hair was messy.

The lights in the room turned off and Liz felt her bed shake. A roar like a jet plane filled the air. The nurses screamed. She felt Jeff take hold of her hand. Something was horribly wrong. She had flashes of memories in her mind. Mab and her plan to release the nightmare Mares.

A loud crack of thunder crashed outside the window and the room filled with a flash of light.

“Jeff,” Liz moaned. “Jeff . . .”

“Lizzy, baby, what’s going on?”

“Mares . . . he’s escaped.”

image

About The Author:

Mikey Brooks is a small child masquerading as an adult. On occasion you’ll catch him dancing the funky chicken, singing like a banshee, and pretending to have never grown up. He is an award winning author of the middle-grade fantasy adventure series The Dream Keeper Chronicles. His other middle-grade books include: The Gates of Atlantis: Battle for Acropolis and The Stone of Valhalla. His picture books include the best-selling ABC Adventures: Magical Creatures, Trouble with Bernie, and Bean’s Dragons. Mikey has a BS degree in English from Utah State University and works fulltime as a freelance illustrator, cover designer, and author. His art can be seen in many forms from picture books to full room murals. He loves to daydream with his three daughters and explore the worlds that only the imagination of children can create. As a member of the Emblazoners, he is one of many authors devoted to ‘writing stories on the hearts of children’ (emblazoners.com). You can find more about him and his books at: http://www.insidemikeysworld.com

image

You Tube HTML:

Rafflecopter Info:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

My Review

I give this book 5 stars, it was really entertaining.
I figured that the writer must have an amazing imagination. Have you ever had a secret that you couldn’t tell anyone not even your life time partner??
The book is about so many different dream keepers its is the third and last book in the series I am looking forward to reading the first two, I know backwards but it was really good. Imagine your dreams are another world, what would you be doing would it be good or bad. If I could recommend one book this month it would definitely be The Dream Maker

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

